About Books and Genres

Let’s sit down and talk about books and genres.

I like to think when I was working in the local libraries in Canada, I always took all readers and their request serious. Whether it was romance, science fiction, teenage pony books or books on upholstery of old furniture, I loved making sure the right book came to the right person. I am ‘ an omnivore reader’ myself, reading always at least 6 books at the same time, from all kind of genres and subjects. Although, I must admit, I need my Book Club to challenge me with more ‘serious’ literature.

DSC_9003

Nou laten we er maar eens voor gaan zitten en praten over boeken en genres.

Terugkijkend op t werken in de lokale bibliotheken in Canada,denk ik wel dat ik altijd alle verzoeken van mijn lezers serieus nam. Of t nu om romantische, science fiction, tiener pony boeken of boeken over t bekleden van oude meubels ging, ik vond t heerlijk om t juiste boek bij de juiste persoon te brengen. Ik zelf ben een ‘alleslezer’, altijd minstens 6 boeken tegelijk aan t lezen, van allerlei genres en onderwerpen. Maar ik geef wel toe dat ik mijn Leesclub nodig heb om aangespoord te worden tot t lezen van ‘serieuzere’  literatuur.

But how do you define a good genre book? I loved it when a patron would ask me for help however they were met by me with a lot of questions. Just saying ‘ a nice detective’ was not good enough for me. The outcome of their specific wishes was often surprising and delightful. Like the soft spoken stay-at-home mom who homeschooled her 5 ever so sweet children, who had a little dark secret. Her love for Historic Novels was translated in the Saxon series by Bernard Cornwell. Well written en historical accurate novels on the Viking invasions in Mediaeval England but not for the faint of heart!

DSC_8251

Maar hoe definieer je een goed genre boek? Ik vond t heerlijk als lezers mij vroegen voor hulp maar ik had dan wel eerst t een en ander te vragen. Het simpele ‘ gewoon een leuke detective’ was niet goed genoeg voor mij. De uitkomst van de specifieke wensen was vaak verrassend en verrukkelijk. Zoals de zachtaardige huismoeder die zelf haar teerhartige en lieve kindertjes onderwees en toch een duistere kant bleek te hebben. Haar liefde voor een historische roman werd vertaald in de Saxon reeks van Bernard Cornwell.Goed geschreven en historisch accurate romans over de Viking invasies in middeleeuws Engeland, maar niet voor de gevoelige lezer!

Or the retired military man who ‘had seen enough misery’ and liked to read Romantic Novels, ‘ the sweet ones, not the ones fit for gynecologists’ was one of his answers that made me blush a little ;0)

And I have to meet the first woman past 40 who did not recognize herself in the lovely novels by Elizabeth Berg, when Women’s literature was requested.

DSC_7491

Of de gepensioneerde militair die ‘al genoeg ellende had gezien.’ en hield van romannetjes, ‘ van t lieve soort en niet zulke die meer geschikt zijn voor de gynaecoloog’ was een van zijn antwoorden waar ik toch wat van moest blozen ;0)

En ik moet de eerste vrouw van 40+ nog ontmoeten die zichzelf niet herkent in de prachtige boeken van Elizabeth Berg, als Vrouwen literatuur verzocht werd.

And sometimes I got it all wrong. This pleasant lady wanted ‘books about animals’. I picked a small selection for her and she choose ‘All Creatures Great and Small’ by the famous writing vet James Herriot. Only two days later she stood fuming at my desk. ‘How could you, a dog dies in this book!!!’ she cried, half in tears. I stammered a bit confused, ‘ But I told you, it was about a vet’. ‘That might be but…A DOG DYING???’ She shook her head, left and I never saw her again.

1934

En soms zat ik er helemaal naast. Een aardige dame wilde graag boeken over dieren. Ik stelde een selectie samen en zij koos voor een boek van de beroemde schrijvende veearts James Herriot. Al twee dagen later stond zij briesend aan de balie. ‘Hoe kon je, er gaat een hond dood in dit boek!!!”, riep ze uit, half in tranen. Ik stotterde wat verward, ‘ maar ik zei toch dat t over een veearts ging?’ ‘ dat was allemaal goed en wel, maar…EEN HOND DIE DOOD GAAT???’ Ze schudde haar hoofd en vertrok en ik heb haar nooit weer gezien.

Oh, And I can not keep this story from you: About this elderly lady, who looked like she was at least a 100 years old. She saw me wrapping a cover on a new title by Nora Roberts. She pointed her walking cane at the book and she almost spat:  ‘Nora Roberts? I don’t like her! Too much sex in her books. Oh, and don’t I know it? I read them all! Put my name down for this one, dear, I want to know what she is up to this time!’ I admired myself, for not starting to laugh until after she left!

DSC_7811[1]

Och, en dan moet ik verhaal nog vertellen: Over dat vreselijk oude vrouwtje, ze leek minstens 100 jaar oud. Ze zag dat ik een nieuw boek van Nora Roberts van een kaft voorzag. Ze wees ernaar met haar wandelstok en kraakte: ‘Nora Roberts? Die mag ik niet! Teveel sex in haar boeken. Oh, en of ik dat niet weet? Ik heb ze allemaal gelezen! Reserveer het voor mij, wil je lieverd, ik moet weten wat ze nu weer uithaalt!’ Ik was trots op mezelf dat ik niet eerder in lachen uitbarstte nadat ze was vertrokken.

My favorite genre is a Cozy Read and I would define that as follow: these books are written with total rest and relaxation in mind. The mysterious/secret past of the heroines often form the plot. If there are crimes, they are clean and clever. Solving them is a playful game that sharpens the mind. If the setting is period than interesting facts are embroidered into the story. The sceneries and interiors are described well and mostly pleasant,  though not necessary luxurious. The characters are strong and of a positive and problem solving nature. The dialogues detailed and lively. Of course a happy ending romance should be part of the story and a little magic is a bonus.

Who agrees?

DSC_7456

Mijn favoriete genre is de Cozy Read en ik weet niet zeker hoe dat te vertalen in t Nederlands: Knusse Boek? Maar ik zou t als volgt willen omschrijven: deze boeken zijn geschreven met als doel t geven van totale ontspanning en rust. Het mysterieuze/geheime verleden van de heldinnen vormen vaak de plot. Als er misdaden worden gepleegd, dan zijn die ordelijk en geslepen van aard. T oplossen is een speels gebeuren dat de brein op scherp zet. Grijpt de setting terug naar een bepaalde periode dan worden interessante feiten vaak verweven in t verhaal. De omgeving en interieurs worden goed omschreven en zijn meestal plezierig maar niet noodzakelijk luxueus. De hoofdpersonen zijn sterk van karakter, positief en probleem oplossend van nature. De dialogen zijn gedetailleerd en levendig. Natuurlijk is een happy ending romance deel van t verhaal en een beetje magie is een bonus.

Mee eens?

More tomorrow!

Meer morgen!

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

17 thoughts on “About Books and Genres

  1. Thanks for the great insight in books & genres, a very interesting post!
    I didn’t know about the Saxon series by Bernard Cornwell, perhaps I should check it out🙂
    Looking forward to your next follow up post…
    Love & hugs

    • The Saxon series are great and I think they are even better as audiobooks. I love it so much that I even quote the hero in the books, the warrior Uhtred when I have to do something that I feel insecure or nervous about: ‘ I will draw my trusted sword ‘Serpent-Breath’ and than I grab my purse and go for it;0) Trust me, only in my head…I am really a non-violent person;0) Hugs from across the pond!

      • I agree, I find Vikings etc fascinating, but on the other hand I’m an anti-war person type, so there is a bit of a contrast here😉
        Just put a first mini-batch of raw fleece to wash, see what happens!

  2. What great stories–librarians seem to have the best ones of all! It’s funny–I have been thinking about writing a blog post about cozy mysteries, too! They are by far my favorites–“murder among friends”! Who are your favorite authors? I need new ideas . . .

    • At the moment I am quite fond of three newer series in the cozy mysteries: The Bailey Ruth Reaburn series by Carolyn Hart,( the sleuth is a ghost) the Darling Dahlias series ( set in the Dirty Thirties) by Susan Albert Wittig and the marvelous Flavia Deluce series ( set in the 1950 and sleuth is a smart 10 year old) by Alan Bradley! I hope, you will enjoy these. But if you want to set your teeth into something different: The Robber Bride by Margaret Atwood is a great book, I re-read from time to time to still find new aspects to the incredible plot! I would love to read your thoughts on the Cozy Read.

      • Oh, I love Flavia, too! And I’ve read Hart and Wittig but not those series–I’ll take a look. And, also, I’ve read Atwood but not that book and I’ve heard very good things about it. You’ll light a fire under me! Have you read books by Louise Penny? I love those. Her new one debuted as number 1 on the Times bestseller list but you shouldn’t start with it, if you haven’t read the others. Start at the beginning, with Still Life–you will come to love the characters.

  3. I agree with you. Life is challenging enough, so reading for me is a form of escapism, although I will sometimes read non-fiction or biographies. Serious or scary books unsettle me…

      • I said it before but Elizabeth Berg makes me think: ” that is exactly what I feel or think, but I did not know it until I read it in her books!” ‘A Year of Pleasure’ is my favorite. I hope you will enjoy !

    • I have the same problem with violent and scary books, that is why I prefer the sanitized crimes in the cozy read. And indeed all gorgeous biographies, cook-, garden-, and handcrafting book and..I take children literature very serious as well and I love reading them.

  4. Oh, I love that story about the lady and the Nora Roberts books – that’s priceless! 🙂

    I always have many books on the go at the same time, too. I read a good deal of non-fiction – plenty of gardening books, cookbooks, history, and occasionally biographies. As for fiction, anything goes – I particularly like science fiction and fantasy, but I’ll read any genre if the story and the characters are entertaining.

  5. My sons are very much into SF and Fantasy. My oldest met George RR Martin once, and found him a genuine kind person. And I am with you, I do have my favorite genres and writers but will read anything if it has the right ‘feel’ ;0)

Leave a Reply

