Progress Report And Little Give Away

Part of my new New Years resolutions was, finishing this felt project. I love working with felt, it is so easy and forgiving material;0) I made whole flock of these little owls when I left my job at the library, to give to my colleagues as a little fare well presents. The pattern comes from the lovely book: ‘ Christmas Crafting in no Time’ by Clare Youngs. I personally think, they look nice all year round. I had two pre cut left,so now I finally finished them.

DSC_8839

Well, most of what I make I give away. And this time I thought, one of you might like it? Just let me know through comment or by email why you think a little owl should fly to you. It does not matter in which part of the world you are. If the competition is too big, I will write all the names on pieces of paper and let Charley dog pick two.

Onderdeel van mijn nieuwe Nieuwjaar voornemens was t afmaken van dit vilt project. Ik vind t heerlijk om met vilt te werken, zulk gemakkelijk en rekbaar materiaal ;0) Ik maakte een hele zwerm van deze kleine uilen toen ik afscheid nam van mijn werk op de bibliotheek, als afscheid presentje voor mijn collega’s. Het patroon komt uit t aardige boek: ‘Christmas Crafting in no Time’ van Clare Youngs.( niet vertaald,foei!) Ik denk overigens dat ze t hele jaar door leuk zijn. Ik had er nog twee voor geknipt en wel liggen en die zijn nu eindelijk afgemaakt.

DSC_8824

Nou, t meeste van wat ik maak, geef ik ook weer weg. En ik dacht deze keer, misschien vindt iemand van jullie t wel leuk? Laat me gewoon maar weten via comment of email waarom jij graag wil dat zo’n kleine uil naar jou toe vliegt. T maakt niet uit, in welk deel van de wereld jij bent. Als de competitie te groot is dan schrijf ik alle namen op papiertjes en laat Charley de hond er twee kiezen.

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

 

19 thoughts on “Progress Report And Little Give Away

  1. such cute owls, my fav is the gray/green one🙂
    Though, having just received an amazing hedgehog from Ohio, I should probably refrain from taking part in the give-away😉

    Glad you’re completed another one of your projects, well done!!
    I’m legging way behind with my projects, with the start of the academic year all is too hectic…

    love & hugs, J

  2. It’s so satisfying to finish another project! I wish I could get something done around here…I seem to be “in the middle” of a million things right now! 🙂

    The little felted owls are adorable! Have you seen that book “Felted Feathered Friends” by Laurie Sharp? I keep picking it up at work and admiring the projects. Felting is definitely something I will take up one day! Your little owls are inspiring to me….

    Have a wonderful day! It’s cloudy and windy here again, but it looks like the rain will hold off long enough for me to finish bringing in the rest of the veggies, the ones that haven’t frozen yet….🙂

  3. Hi Johanna! What wonderful, wise owls – perfect for your bookish librarian friends! Actually, my Swedish boyfriend is a librarian and fellow owl-lover as, the other day he came home with shopping and napkins decorated with cute owls! He knows me well…🙂 I would love an owl to cheer me up as I heard in some old customs they are protectors against ill health and I have had a rough spell health-wise of late. Also I just have a soft spot for owls! I have never tried such a felt project and would love to learn and be better at sewing in general.
    I have got a pattern to crochet “kram ugglor” which means “hug owls” in Swedish – it is on my “to-do” list to make a cosy companion and to learn to read the Swedish pattern. Kram to you! Christina in Stockholm

    • Ha, a librarian for a sweety…well people that work at libraries are known for their kindness;0) Sorry to disappoint you however with all your talents Christina, I am sure your felt projects would look better that mine! But I am curious about your kram ugglor in crochet. Kram and Knuf to you, ♥ Johanna

      • hej Johanna! Thanks, but I really am not as skilled as you are in this technique! Inspires me to try one day.🙂 And yes librarians are sweet – at least my one is! I must try to find time to make an owl with crochet then! Have you found a good home for yours? Hope so! Kram, kram! Christina

  4. The owls have wonderful personality! I’d love one because it would be a lasting reminder of the friendships that can grow out of blogging! Congrats on getting something off your to-do list!

  5. Pingback: Charley Dog Says : ‘And the Winner is….’ | Like Flora Poste

Leave a Reply

