Flu Remedies and Fall Decorations

‘In a tidal wave of mystery, you’d still be standing next to me’

-Sebu Simonian, Ryan Merchant from Capital Cities.

DSC_8776     DSC_8779

Well, I am sort of back on my feet again and scurry bravely through the house, putting up some fall decorations.

Thank you all so much for your kind wishes for my health through comments and emails. That is a good medicine in itself!

DSC_8805

Nou, ik ben weer wat op de been en scharrel dapper wat door t huis en zet hier en daar wat herfst decoraties neer.

Allemaal bedankt voor lieve comments en emails met beterschap wensen. Dat alleen al is een goed medicijn!

DSC_8810

And many of you had good advise for rest and lots of (warm) fluids with and without alcohol. Tried them all and they help for I do feel better, ha!

Well, not all. I left the goose fat and mustard chest wrapping out. And my parents used to cut raw onions in half and put that on their night stands believing the onion fragrance(= horrible smell) would have a good effect.  We kids had no trouble leaving them alone to rest and recuperate! I wonder, why we never tried that for ourselves;0)

DSC_8799

En vaak was er ook goed advies voor rust en veel drinken met of zonder alcoholische ingrediënten. Ik heb t allemaal geprobeerd, t helpt want ik voel me beter, ha!

Hoewel, ik heb de ganzenvet en mosterd borstpleisters achterwege gelaten. En mijn ouders sneden altijd rauwe uien doormidden en legden die op hun nachtkastjes. Ze geloofden dat de geur (=stank) van de uien een goed effect had. Wij kinderen hadden totaal geen probleem om hun met rust te laten! Ik vraag me af waarom wij dat later zelf nooit uit probeerden ;0)

It reminded me also of a funny story. A kind lady who often took care of me when I was a wee girl, always made a strong concoction to cure colds and flu. You put port, a whole onion, cloves, molasses and honey in a pan and let it stew for hours and hours. To me it smelled heavenly. I would get a few spoonfuls and it tasted good.

DSC_8804

Daardoor schoot me een grappig verhaal in zin. Een aardige dame die vaak voor mij zorgde toen ikzelf nog een hummel was,maakte altijd een krachtig brouwsel tegen verkoudheid en griep. Je doet port, een ui, kruidnagelen, stroop en honing een pan en laat het de hele dag stoven. Ik vond dat t hemels rook. Ik kreeg een paar eetlepels vol en t smaakte goed.

So years later, I tried it out for my own sons. The boys looked full of suspicion at the simmering pot and at me, expecting me to change into the wicked witch at any moment. At the end of the day, I sifted the brew and was delighted with the dark fluid that looked and tasted the same as in my memory.

My youngest son, 8 years at the time and with a flair for Victorian melodrama, looked at it with dismay and called out; ” Oh no, we can not drink THAT…it looks like blood from a very sick human!!!”

I sniffed indignantly in Mary Poppin’s style and discarded my syrup.

drawing016

Dus jaren later, probeerde ik t uit voor mijn eigen zonen. De jongens gluurden achterdochtig naar de pruttelende pan en mij en vermoedden dat ik elk moment in de boze heks zou veranderen. Aan t einde van de dag, zeefde ik t brouwsel en was opgetogen dat het er net zo uitzag en smaakte als ik t mij herinnerde.

Mijn jongste zoon, 8 jaar oud toen en met een flair van Victoriaans melodrama, keek ontzet en riep uit: ” Oh nee, DAT kunnen we niet drinken…het ziet er uit als bloed van erg ziek mens!!!”

Met een verontwaardigde snuif zoals Mary Poppins, gooide ik mijn siroop maar weg.

Well, on a happier note: do you, just like me, play a newly discovered song you like over and over again? All week I was listening to the cheerful ‘Safe and Sound’ by Capital Cities. And the lyrics are so romantic too! I will share the video with you because it shows 100 years of dance history in such a creative way. So dust of your tap dance shoes, tutu, or disco leggings, move the couch out of the way and have fun!

Nouja, over naar wat vrolijkers: luisteren jullie ook keer op keer naar t zelfde liedje dat je net ontdekt hebt en zo leuk vind, als ik doe? De hele week luister ik al naar t vrolijke ‘Safe and Sound’ van Capital Cities. De tekst is zo lieflijk! Ik zal de video met jullie delen want t laat 100 jaar dans geschiedenis zien op zo’n creatieve manier. Dus stof die tapdans schoenen, tutu of disco legging, schuif de bak aan de kant en heb lol!

Love and Liefs, Johanna

15 thoughts on “Flu Remedies and Fall Decorations

  1. What a lot of good stuff in this post! I love your approach to fall decorating–each detail looks so perfect and understated. And the story about your sons cracked me up–kids have a way of saying things that’s just so . . . different–you’ll never think of your special syrup the same way again! Glad you’re feeling better!

Leave a Reply

