Into the Woods

Had a great weekend with good hikes and apple pie. How was your weekend?

Heb een gezellig weekend gehad met fijne hikes en appeltaart. Hoe was jouw weekend?

DSC_0974

‘When you see someone putting on his Big Boots, you can be pretty sure that an Adventure is going to happen.’

― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

DSC_0980

‘Don’t underestimate the value of Doing Nothing, of just going along, listening to all the things you can’t hear, and not bothering.’

― A.A. Milne

DSC_1062

‘Rivers know this: there is no hurry. We shall get there some day.’

― A.A. Milne, Winnie-the-Pooh

DSC_1037 (yes..that is snake skin)

‘Always watch where you are going. Otherwise, you may step on a piece of the Forest that was left out by mistake.’

― A.A. Milne

DSC_0993

‘Pay attention to where you are going because without meaning you might get nowhere.’

― A.A. Milne

DSC_8720

‘Cut my pie into four pieces, I don’t think I could eat eight.’

― Yogi Berra

Love and Liefs, Johanna

 

11 thoughts on “Into the Woods

  1. Hiking and apple pie? That sounds perfect! There’s a restaurant here in the Adirondacks, the Noonmark Diner–THE destination for pie after a long walk or climb. I love the quotes you chose, too!

  2. What a great post! The quotes from Pooh — especially the one about being mindful how you step in the forest — are priceless. I love the Big Boot theory. I had never connected the childlike innocence of Winnie the Pooh with Yogi Berra, but his quote about the pie fit perfectly.

  3. I have a question: Did you design the beautiful top crust for your pie, or was that handed down through your family? My grandmother taught me the design “we” put on our pies, and she told me that it had been passed down through generations, almost like a “brand”. I got the impression that other families had done the same, so it would be clear who had brought which pie at big community dinners.

  4. Thank you Susan, for your all your lovely comments. The ‘pie-design’ is my own ( I say with blushing cheeks and flapping ears) I grew up in The Netherlands where there is no tradition of these kind of pies, Dutch pies are ususally open faces or more like layered cakes. I thought your story so interesting that you could recognize wich family brought the pie. American crust pies are so delicious and I love baking and decoratig them. Since I love stars , I usuually put a star on it…so that would make a recognizable Johanna Pie ;0)

Leave a Reply

