Preparing for Winter, Final part and Knit Wise.

“Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire: it is the time for home.”

― Edith Sitwell

Now, do not get me wrong: I do like summer. I like BBQ food, long summer evenings  in good company on the patio, the cool in the morning, the abundance of flowers, fruits and veggies and birds singing…really I do.

It is just, I like fall and winter more. And on hot days in August, I know I am ready for that first morning walk when you wished you had brought a scarf and feel happy about that.

DSC_8638

Nou, begrijp me niet verkeerd: ik hou van de zomer. Ik hou van maaltijden van de BBQ, lange zomeravonden in goed gezelschap op t terras, de koelte in de morgen, de overvloed aan bloemen, fruit en groentes en vogel gezang…echt waar!

Maar t is gewoon zo dat ik nog meer houd van de herfst en winter. En op hete dagen in augustus, dat weet ik dat ik klaar ben voor die eerste wandeling dat je wenste dat je een sjaal bij je had en daar helemaal blij van wordt.

I look longingly at recipes for hearty stews and juicy meat pies, at my winter dresses and boots, leaf through vintage children books with pretty fall and winter illustrations.

DSC_8634

Verlangend kijk ik naar recepten voor hartige stoofschotels en stevige stampotten, naar mijn winterjurken en laarzen, blader door oude kinderboeken met schattige herfst en winter illustraties.

Well, before I get cranky, I might as well find a delicious recipe for a good salad to look forward too and thank goodness, there is always knitting to cheer me up;0)

Had this beautiful silky yarn and knitted these dainty mittens and embroidered them as well. Still had enough yarn left to knit matching slippers. I hope, you do not realize how silly that is: whenever is one to wear slippers and mittens at the same time?!

DSC_8645

Ach, voordat ik chagrijnig word, kan ik maar beter een recept opscharrelen voor een lekkere salade en halleluja, vrolijkt breien me altijd weer op ;0)

Met dit prachtige zijdeachtige garen, breidde ik deze nuffige wanten en borduurde ze ook nog op. En ik had nog garen genoeg voor bijpassende pantoffels. Ik hoop dat t niet opvalt dat dat een beetje suffig is: wanneer draagt men in hemelsnaam pantoffels en wanten tegelijkertijd?!

Love and Liefs, ♥ Johanna

 

11 thoughts on “Preparing for Winter, Final part and Knit Wise.

  1. These are so lovely, I really like them! the slippers are so great, did you make them up or followed a pattern? I would be keen to try them out, as they would make for a nice present for the festive season🙂
    I also like summer, but have lately grown to like the colder seasons as well – maybe after living in cooler countries like Austria and the UK😉 it may also have helped my longing for all things Nordic?
    I’m starting to think of autumn and warmer clothes, knitting etc etc….
    have a good day and thanks for sharing your work! Hugs, Judith

  2. Dear Judith, Thank you for your lovely comment!
    There are patterns for those slippers and usually when you buy the soles, a pattern comes with it. But for these, I simply knitted the socks and attached them to the soles. This way I knew I had enough yarn and they fit nice and snug.
    Lucky person that finds your slippers in their stocking! Hugs from Ohio!

    • Dear Johanna,
      Sorry, for some reason I hadn’t seen your reply. You know, so far I have not ventured yet into sock making, although I do admire and stare at sock patterns now and again🙂
      I didn’t know that there were kits for such slippers, so far I only had seen mention of soles to be attached (the type of soles that only sit at the bottom of the foot, without the side “walls” as I can see in your cute ones).
      Thanks for sharing and the info!
      Have a good day,
      Judith

  3. Oh Ananie, Kindred spirits again: I love sowshoe-ing too!!! In Canada, we lived in a forest and I could snowshoe every day for miles on end. Guess, I have to make a few trip up North to my sons this winter ;0)
    Keep it cool in hot Minnesota!

    • Thank you for stopping by and a kind compliment! I think in Ottawa you will have plenty of opportunity for crisp fall and winter walks;0) I visited your beautiful city 3 years ago and loved it! Great food too!

Leave a Reply

