Book Review: ‘What Delilah Did Presents Storyland Cross Stitch’

‘You may not know this, but every forest is enchanted. This is a constant source of irritation to me,…’

from:  ‘What Delilah Did Presents Storyland Cross Stitch’

Author: Sophie Simpson

Publication date: July, 2013

ISBN:978-1-908449-39-9

So I like books to come from all kind of places, be it book stores, big or small, libraries or garage sales. And sometimes I mail order them. Ohoh, patiently waiting 2 days and then finding that package in the mailbox.

DSC_8534

Dus ik vind t leuk om mijn boeken overal vandaan te halen, grote en kleine boekenwinkels, bibliotheken, of rommelmarkten. En soms bestel ik via postorder. Ohoh, 2 dagen geduldig wachten en dan dat pakje in de bus vinden.

Be still my heart! Carefully open it and finding that brand new book: Oh Joy!

DSC_8535

Vol verwachting en voorzichtig openen en dan dat kersverse boek vinden: Hoezee!

As you  might know, I like my  handcrafting books to be a good read with beautiful photo’s and of course clear instructions. So with my embroidery ‘stuff’ unpacked again after the move, I felt like looking around for a new embroidery book and I fell immediately for ‘Storyland Cross Stitch’, it has it all.

DSC_8537

15 enchanting projects all introduced with a funny fairytale and  it comes with a little gift as well,  a pleasant bonus. Sophie Simpson knows what she is talking about and gives an excellent introduction on embroidery with clear illustrations and good explanations. A wonderful book for both beginner and advanced.

Ha, and since I have a fondness for Jackalopes, you can guess how pleased I was with this pattern!

DSC_8538

Misschien weet je al, dat mijn handwerkboeken leuk om te lezen moeten zijn met prachtige foto’s en natuurlijk heldere instructies. Dus met mijn borduurspul weer uitgepakt na de verhuizing, had ik wel weer trek in een nieuw borduurboek en ik viel als een blok voor ‘Storyland Cross Stitch’, want dat boek voldoet aan alle eisen. 15 betoverende projecten, beginnend met een grappig sprookje en je krijgt er ook nog eens leuk klein cadeautje bij. Sophie Simpson weet waar ze over praat en geeft een uitstekende introductie tot borduurwerk. Een prachtig boek voor beginners en de verder gevorderden.

Ha en sinds ik een zwak heb voor Jackalopes, kun je wel raden hoe blij ik was met dit patroon!

Het boek is nog niet vertaald in t Nederlands.

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

ps Check out her blog as well, worth a visit http://www.whatdelilahdid.typepad.com/

ps Neem ook eens een kijkje op haar blog, de moeite waard: http://www.whatdelilahdid.typepad.com/

6 thoughts on “Book Review: ‘What Delilah Did Presents Storyland Cross Stitch’

  1. I almost never read best sellers–and find that the books I enjoy the most are the ones that I “discover” at a garage sale or on a library shelf. Of course, I sometimes get duds–but often they end up being awesome.

    • Ha, a woman after my own heart! I worked at a library for a few years and had first dibs on rummaging through the boxes with book donations, found many of treassure there: to old and damaged to put on library shelves but cherished at my home;0) But from time to time, I also enjoy a brand book too.

  2. It’s been a few years since I did any cross-stitch but I still enjoy looking at all types of craft books 🙂 Annie

    • Dear Annie, I don’t about you but reading a good craft or cook book and looking at the nice illustrations and patterns etc, just gives me a cozy feeling and inspires me to start projects.

Leave a Reply

