Important Nothings and a Big Thank You All!

“Which of all my important nothings shall I tell you first?”

― Jane Austen

This is one of my favorite Jane Austen quotes. I so like the expression ‘important nothings’. The little things: which flowers are in bloom, a new dress, a very good recipe, a new book or a good hike. Things that make everyday live for me but I so rarely put in emails or talk about over the phone. Though I am seldom homesick for The Netherlands or Canada, I missed sharing the important nothings with my far away friends and family. And when my sons left home, I am glad they convinced me to start this blog mainly about…important nothings. I thought it would just be a good place for some friends and family to keep up with my important nothings. However, apparently there are more people in the world who like to share, because to my astonishment, I surpassed the 100 followers.

I am so enjoying all this. I feel like having met really good pen palls and kindred spirits who have blogs so much more beautiful than mine and do impressive things with photography ,writing ,cooking, handcrafting ,traveling, and much more! Sharing stories about gardening, family histories, about every day live in their part of the world.  It is inspiring. And than all those nice comments left on my posts or all those kind emails.I can not send you all real flowers and cake but I hope this photo brings a smile to your face! Thank you all so much!!!

DSC_8533

Dit is wel mijn favoriete quote van Jane Austen. Important Nothings zou ik vertalen als Belangrijke Wissewasjes. Kleine dingetjes, als welke bloemen er in de bloei staan, een nieuwe jurk, een goed recept, een nieuw boek of een mooie hike. Dingen uit mijn dagelijks bestaan maar die maar zelden in een email of telefoon gesprek te sprake komen. Hoewel ik bijna nooit heimwee naar Nederland of Canada heb, miste ik t wel om die belangrijke wissewasjes te delen met de verweg-vrienden-en-familie. En toen mijn zonen t nest verlieten , was ik wel blij dat ze me overtuigden om deze blog te starten over die…belangrijke wissewasjes. Ik dacht dat t een prima plek zou zijn voor die vrienden en familie om van die wissewasjes op de hoogte te blijven. Maar kennelijk zijn er meer mensen die zulks willen delen want tot mijn grote verbazing, ben ik de 100 volgers voorbij.

Ik vind t zo ongelooflijk leuk. Het voelt als t ontmoeten van  hele goede penvrienden zoals vroeger en gelijkgestemde zielen met blogs die toch zoveel mooier zijn dan de mijne en prachtige dingen doen met fotografie, schrijven, handwerken, reizen en zoveel meer! Het delen van de verhalen over tuinieren, familie geschiedenis, en t dagelijks leven in hun deel van de wereld. Het is inspirerend. En dan al die aardige berichtjes op mijn posts en al die leuke emails.

Ik kan niet iedereen bloemen en cake sturen maar ik hoop dat deze foto ‘t idee een beetje overbrengen! Heel erg bedankt allemaal!!!

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

ps You can find the recipe for this  decadent delicious chocolate & nut cake on the best website for gluten free recipes : Glutenfree Gus.

ps T recept voor deze decadent lekkere chocolade met nootjes cake staat op de beste website for glutenvrije recepten: Glutenfree Gus.

 

6 thoughts on “Important Nothings and a Big Thank You All!

  1. Lovely post and delicious looking cake! I must say I like your fine tea cups too. Just my cup of tea, so to say. Happy to be connected in the blog world and glad I recently joined this friendly community. Always appreciate your kind comments on my posts! Tack och kram från Sverige, Christina.

  2. Thank you, Christina! That cake makes a good ‘fika’ and no wonder you like the dinnerware…the pattern is called ‘Nordic’ ;0) A big hug for you too from Ohio, Johanna

Leave a Reply

