Book Review: Frankenstein;or, the Modern Prometheus

“I ought to be thy Adam, but I am rather the fallen angel…”

―’the Monster’ in Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus.

Author: Mary Shelley

First published: 1818

ISBN: 978-161 3823 484

I confess , I am a bit of a lazy reader. I re-read books over and over and I like cozy reads. And really, nothing wrong with that! However, from time to time I need to be challenged. So I became a member of a wonderful book club at the local library. I have met these great women a few times now and I am ever so pleased with them and hopefully they with me;o)

This time, to my surprise, ‘Frankenstein’ was on the menu. Of course, I read it dutifully at high school and I guess most of us know the story  about the eccentric scientist Victor Frankenstein, who creates a monster in an effort to recreate life, in a terrifying scientific experiment. He gets the scare of his lifetime and backs away. Only when the love of his life is murdered by the creature, he takes responsibility and decides to end what he has started by finding his creature and kill it.

I was actually surprised to find how well written the book is, the story is still captivating and genuinely scary and sad. I also was surprised to find,  Mary Shelley was only 19 when she started to write ‘Frankenstein’ and how unusual her life actually was.  Another ‘fun fact’, brought to my attention by my bookworm sons, ‘Frankenstein’ is considered the first science fiction novel due to the use of plausible but non existing technology that changes the characters and events of the story. Ha, I did not know that!

Ja ik beken, ik ben een beetje een luie leester. Ik her-lees boeken eindeloos and hou van gezellige, knusse boeken. Nouja, daar is helemaal niks mis mee! Maar zo nu en dan moet ik toch eens opgepord worden. Dus werd ik lid van de fantastische leesclub in de plaatselijke bieb. Ik heb deze geweldige vrouwen nu een paar keer ontmoet en ik ben in mijn nopjes met hun en hopelijk zij met mij;o)

Deze keer stond,tot mijn verrassing, ‘Frankenstein’ op t menu. Natuurlijk was t verplicht leesvoer op de middelbare school en ik denk dat iedereen t verhaal wel kent over de excentrieke wetenschapper Victor Frankenstein, die een monster creëert in een poging menselijk leven te scheppen, in een afschrikwekkend experiment. Hij wordt doodsbang en vlucht. Pas wanneer de liefde van zijn leven door t monster wordt gedood, neemt hij de verantwoordelijkheid op zich en beslist hij een einde te maken aan wat hij is begonnen door t wezen op te sporen en te doden.

Ik was eigenlijk verrast hoe goed t boek geschreven is, het verhaal is nog steeds intrigerend en erg griezelig en treurig. Ik was ook verrast te ontdekken dat Mary Shelley nog maar 19 was toen zij t boek begon te schrijven en hoe uitzonderlijk haar leven was. Een ander interessant feit, opgemerkt door boekenwurmen van zonen, is dat ‘Frankenstein’ wordt gezien als t eerste echte science fiction boek door t gebruik van aannemelijke maar niet bestaande technologie dat verandering brengt in de hoofdkarakters en wendingen in t verhaal teweeg brengt. Ha, dat wist ik niet!

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Frankenstein;or, the Modern Prometheus

Leave a Reply

