Lazy DIY Job Part I

Well, the photo’s in the upcoming posts are a bit blurry: it is quite dark in this room but we are going to pretend they are just fine;o)

De foto’s in de komende posts zijn t beetje wazig: het is nogal donker in die kamer maar we doen gewoon alsof ze heel goed zijn;o)

With the move to our permanent living quarters in a few weeks, it is time to finish some DIY jobs. Now I am not very patient, I like small projects and I am certainly not a perfectionist. So this is a little story of a lazy DIY job.

A few years ago, I bought this 1930 hutch in a huge thrift store in Canada. It was very dirty, and had a big dried glue mass on one of the shelves, hardly any handles but further in good nick and I could get it for a song. Four big fellows came eagerly forward, to put in the car for me: a bit over the top because it weighs next to nothing but very kind of course;0)

A good cleaning, elbow grease, furniture wax and a set of new handles revealed this beauty and I enjoy it every day in my workroom.

DSC_8062

Met de verhuizing in zicht met een paar weken, wordt t tijd om wat doe-t-zelf klusjes af te maken. Nu ben ik niet erg geduldig en hou ik van kleine projecten en ik ben zeker geen perfectionist. Dus dit is een verhaaltje over een luie doe-t-zelf klus.

Een paar jaar geleden, kocht ik deze buffetkast van de jaren dertig in een grote kringloopwinkel in Canada. Het was heel vies, er was dikke lijmlaag op 1 van de planken en de hendels waren naar zijn grootje.Maar verder was t in goede staat en spotgoedkoop. Vier grote kerels kwamen aansnellen om t voor mij in de auto te hijsen: een beetje overdreven want t weegt bijna niks maar wel erg aardig natuurlijk;o)

Een flinke schoonmaakbeurt, meubelwas en een set nieuwe hendels onthulde dit schatje en geniet er elke dag van in mijn werkkamer.

DSC_8070

Then a year ago, I stumbled upon this sweet chest of drawers that would match the hutch quite nicely. But even for my taste, it is too bruised and battered. This is beyond shabby chique!  It has no label, mark, dovetail joints, etc. So I can just go ahead and spruce it up a little. Lets get to it!

En toen een jaar terug, vond ik dit aardige laden kastje dat eigenlijk wel paste bij de buffetkast.  Maar zelfs voor mijn smaak, is te  groezelig. Dat kan je niet meer shabby chique noemen! T heeft geen label, brandmerk, zwaluwstaart verbindingen, etc. Dus ik kan gewoon aan de gang gaan en t beetje fatsoeneren. Hup, aan de slag!

To be contiued…oftewel wordt vervolg…

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

6 thoughts on “Lazy DIY Job Part I

    • Thanks! It looks like like burl but it is all veneer: it weighs so little I can easily move it around;0) I was quite amazed it didn’t have any scratches or chips. And oh yes, a good shopping spree would have been nice! Thank goodness we can keep an eye on each other blogs!

Leave a Reply

