In love with the Drexel

This a post for all you thrift shop-, fleamarket-, yardsale- and bargain loving people who fully understand that one can talk ALL DAY about a good find! Oh, the thrill of the hunt, the discovery, making tracks and the score.

Deze post is voor alle kringloop-, vlooienmarkten-, koopjesjagers, die volledig begrijpen dat je de HELE DAG kunt praten over een goede vondst! Oh, de jacht, de ontdekking, het toeslaan en de trofee.

DSC_8109

This 1955 Drexel Hutch was standing all by itself and lonely in a local antique store for only $230.-. I could not believe my eyes and thought something was wrong with it. But no, the man selling it said , he had found for it next to nothing however in this area there is no interest for beautiful fifties design furniture. Such atrocity…but lucky for me;0)And he wanted the space back in his store. (There was also a dining room set and he just sold that to a young couple: lucky for them!)

Deze Drexel buffetkast uit 1955 stond alleen en eenzaam in een plaatselijk antiekwinkeltje voor slechts $230.-. Ik kon mijn ogen niet geloven en was ervan overtuigd dat er iets mis mee was. Maar nee, de man die t verkocht had het zelf spotgoedkoop op de kop getikt maar in deze buurt verkoopt designer meubels uit de jaren vijftig gewoon niet. Tut, tut…maar gelukkig voor mij ;0) En hij wilde de ruimte terug in zijn winkel. (Er was ook nog een eetkamer set bij maar die had hij zojuist verkocht aan een jong stel: mazzelaars!)

So now my Drexel and I are the best of friends. I polished it and put my nicest dinnerware in it and talk about so much…that my youngest son is developing eye twitching problems. Am I that shallow? Ouch, I am afraid so;0)

Dus nu zijn  mijn Drexel en ik de beste vrienden. Ik heb het mooi opgepoetst en mijn mooiste servies er ingezet en ik praat er zoveel over…dat mijn jongste zoon een tik aan zijn oog aan t ontwikkelen is. Ben ik zo oppervlakkig? Oef, echt wel;0)

 DSC_8098 DSC_8100 DSC_8102

It even has a little drawer for silverware, the cloth is supposed to prevent tarnishing. So I cleaned the pathetic amount of silver(plate) ware I have (bought by ‘accident’ as part of a lot) and I will find out at Christmas what has become of it.

Het heeft zelfs een klein laatje voor zilvergoed, t doek zou verkleuring tegen gaan. Dus heb ik t zielige beetje (ver) zilver(de) spul gepoetst dat ik per ongeluk had gekocht omdat t ‘in een doos vol’ zat en zal met Kerst ontdekken of t werkt.

Tip: most designer furniture have labels on the back/bottom but often they also have a mark on the inside of a drawer. Easier to spot!

Tip: designer meubels hebben meestal een label op de achter- en onderkant maar vaak zit er ook een merk op de binnenkant van een laatje. Gemakkelijker om te vinden!

DSC_8106

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

ps: did I mention I got another 25% discount when buying it….

ps: heb ik gemeld dat ik ook nog eens een extra korting kreeg van 25%..

 

3 thoughts on “In love with the Drexel

  1. Pingback: Went Shopping for Chairs | Like Flora Poste

Leave a Reply

