National Museum of the United States Air Force

‘I have seen what a laugh can do. It can transform almost unbearable tears into something bearable, even hopeful.’

Bob Hope

So with our Dutch friends, we went to the National Museum of the United States Air Force in Dayton, Ohio. To be honest, I expected it to be a bit of a ‘men-thing’. However, I was surprised to find how fascinating it all was.

DSC_0352

The museum follows the history of aviation and the Air Force, starting with the Wright Brothers. Now I already get dizzy when standing on a chair. Whatever possessed Orville and Wilbur (I love those names) to start flying around in what seems to me little more than a bicycle with umbrella’s?! Ever so grateful to them, nowadays I fly each year to my family in The Netherlands, enjoying a good meal, movies, tea and a nap along the way.

In the huge hangars, exhibitions from  WW1 to the latest missions follow in chronological order. Interesting and moving at the same time. Intertwined are  exhibits of the photos, uniforms and medals that tell the poignant stories of young soldiers all through this history.

DSC_0368

Exciting are two hangars on the base itself with the presidential airplanes and the experimental aircrafts that never made it to production.And as a fan of vintage entertainment, I liked the exhibit on Bob Hope and the performances he gave for the troops abroad.

DSC_0422

Dus met onze vrienden uit Nederland, bezochten we t National Museum of the United States Air Force in Dayton, Ohio. Eerlijk gezegd, verwachtte ik dat t meer interessant voor de mannen zou zijn maar ik was verrast hoe fascinerend t allemaal was.

Het museum volgt de geschiedenis van de luchtvaart en luchtmacht, beginnend met de Wright Brothers. Nu word ik al duizelig als ik op een stoel sta. Dus wat hebben Orville en Wilbur (heerlijke namen!) bezield om de lucht in te gaan in wat volgens mij niet meer was dan een fiets met paraplu’s?! Reuze dankbaar ben ik ze zeker, tegenwoordig vlieg ik elk jaar naar mijn familie in Nederland, onderweg genietend van warme maaltijden, films, thee en een dutje.

DSC_0507

In the grote hangars, zijn de tentoonstellingen van de Eerste Wereldoorlog tot de laatste missies in chronologische volgorde. Het is tegelijkertijd interessant en ontroerend. Verweven zijn exposities van foto’s, uniformen en medailles die hartverscheurende verhalen vertellen van de jonge soldaten door de geschiedenis heen.

DSC_0419

Opwindend waren de hangars op de legerbasis zelf met de presidentiële vliegtuigen en de experimentele vliegtuigen die t nooit tot productie hebben gebracht.En als een fan van vintage entertainment vond ik de expositie over Bob Hope en de voorstellingen die hij gaf voor de troepen in t buitenland bijzonder leuk.

Love and Liefs, Johanna.

3 thoughts on “National Museum of the United States Air Force

Leave a Reply

