Book Review: Folk Socks

‘ Folk Socks’

” No article of human apparel has been more taken for granted than the sock…”

Nancy Bush- Folk Socks.

Author Nancy Bush

Country United States of America

Language English

Publication date 1994

ISBN 0-934026-97-1

Sock knitting is my yoga and ever so perfect because I love small projects best of all. And ohoh, do not let me loose in a knitting store…I have a serious addiction to beautiful all natural yarns , I always need more knitting needles and of course…knitting books.

To me, a good knitting book  should not only have the right patterns but also have beautiful photo’s and be a good read over over a cup of tea.The knitting books by Nancy Bush meet all these criteria and my favorite is ‘Folk Socks, the history & techniques of handknitted footwear.’

Nancy Bush has an engaging way of talking about knitting and the history that comes with it. It is all so interesting! Did you for instance know that at one point in time British crofters made more money with sock knitting than farming? And that women from The Shetland Islands when going to the market in dense fog, measured the distance of walking by the amount of knitting they did whilst on their way and did not get lost?

The patterns and photo’s are just gorgeous and I love the picture of Nancy herself on the back of the book. Anybody that hold a sheep so lovingly must be a wonderful person.

Sokken breien is mijn yoga en zo op mijn  lijf geschreven want ik hou van kleine projecten. En ohoh, laat me niet los in een breiwinkel…ik ben serieus verslaafd aan prachtige natuurlijke garens, ik heb altijd meer breinaalden nodig en natuurlijk… breiboeken.

Ik vind dat een goed breiboek niet alleen goede patronen moet hebben maar ook prachtige foto’s en gezellig gelezen kan worden met een kopje thee erbij.De breiboeken van Nancy Bush voldoen aan al deze criteria en mijn favoriet is ‘Folk Socks, the history & techniques of handknitted footwear.’

Nancy Bush heeft een aanstekelijke manier om over breien en de geschiedenis ervan te vertellen.Het is allemaal zo interessant!  Wist je bijvoorbeeld dat in vroeger tijden, Britse keuterboeren meer geld verdienden met sokken breien dan met hun boerderij?  En dat als vrouwen van de Shetland Eilanden in dichte mist naar de markt liepen, ze de afstand die ze aflegden vergeleken met de hoeveelheid breien die ze al lopend deden en zo niet verdwaalden?

De patronen en foto’s zijn beeldschoon en de foto van Nancy zelf op de achterkant in t bijzonder. Iemand die met zoveel liefde een schaap kan vasthouden, moet wel een bijzonder mens zijn.

Love en Liefs, Johanna.

ps: ik kan geen Nederlandse vertaling van dit boek vinden.

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Folk Socks

    • Thanks Annie. I just started this blog, it helps me to be creative and explore photography and knitting in a more artful way and just ‘chitchat’ ;0) Getting such a nice compliment feels very good!
      Johanna.

Leave a Reply

