Sunshine!

Yay, sunshine today. Went for a long walk with Charley dog and I feel invigorated. The buds on the trees are bursting and daffodils, tulips and crocuses are peeping from underground everywhere. I wish,I was a poet….

Also at home spring is coming, however in the background the Christmas lady is still holding up her star. We moved just before Christmas, so she came out of her box much later than usual and I have a hard time putting her away again with the rest of the Christmas stuff. She always looks so happy in a winter breeze, so pretty and comfortably in what I image is a warm red velvet dress lined with (of course fake) fur.

She originates from Ikea from The Netherlands and was a Christmas present from my love about ten years ago. She used to hold a candle, but once lighted it would spill wax everywhere. I think the star is a fairy tale like replacement and I love things that tell a story. Ha, not so hard in my case;0)

Image

Hoera, zonneschijn vandaag! Ik heb een lange wandeling met Charley hond gemaakt en ik bruis van energie. De boomknoppen staan op barsten en overal komen de narcissen, tulpen en krokussen op. Oh, ik wenste dat ik kon dichten…

Ook in huis begint de lente. Hoewel, op de achtergrond houdt t Kerstvrouwtje nog steeds haar ster omhoog. We zijn net voor Kerst verhuisd en ze kwam dus veel later dan andere jaren uit de doos. Nu vind ik t moeilijk om haar weer terug in de doos te stoppen bij de andere Kerstspullen. Ze lijkt zo blij in een wintersbriesje en zo elegant en comfortabel in haar (wat ik denk) rode fluwelen jas afgezet met (natuurlijk nep-) bont.

Ze komt uit een Nederlandse Ikea en ik kreeg haar voor Kerst van mijn lief zo’n tien jaar geleden. Ze was bedoeld als kaarsenstandaard maar dat veroorzaakte plassen met kaarsenwas. Dus gaf ik haar een ster, een sprookjesachtige oplossing. Ik hou van spulletjes die de fantasie prikkelen,  niet zo moeilijk in mijn geval;0)

ps: If Ikea stuff is ten years old, can one consider it retro or even vintage?

ps als Ikea spulletjes tien jaar en ouder is, kan je t dan al als retro of zelfs vintage beschouwen?

Love and liefs Johanna.

Leave a Reply

